Skip to content

Something’s happening here

November 28, 2011

Last year, I started a new Christmas tradition with my family. We provide Christmas dinner for a family of lesser means. It takes a few weeks to accumulate all the fixings, and we deliver. The project is organized through a local agency, The Shepherds of Good Hope. This year we’ve been matched to a recent immigrant family: a single mother with two children, quite close in age to my own.

Just after I spoke with her on Friday afternoon to confirm the delivery time, I was handed a note from my youngest child. She’d received it from her teacher to give to me. I thought it was a followup to the parent-teacher interview we had earlier in the week, and in a sense it was. What lingered in her mind was that I’d lost my job twice in recent months. She wrote to offer our family Christms dinner. While it’s not something we need, I cried, deeply touched by her kindness.

That’s all I have to say about that.

In other news, I’ve joined a seasonal choir. We practise four times before performing this Friday evening. There will be 750 people singing in the performance. (There will also be a flash mob the following day.) At the break this past Saturday, I was approached by a woman who had been quietly admiring and coveting my handknit scarf. She asked me to describe how I made it, and I did. As it happened, I was carrying some prototypes of Christmas gifts in my sack. She asked to see them. Then she bought one.

That’s all I have to say about that.

My adventures in fashion continue. Last week’s treasure? A black and white houndstooth winter dress coat for $4. It is stunning. To the woman (shopper) in the nearby change room who insisted I try it on, I salute you and wrap you in an abundance of white light.

In the past week, I have mastered “from scratch” breadmaking, my new business idea is taking flight, and the children are making their own snacks and lunches now. After three weeks of open drum circle, I’ve also learned to play Djembe and Conga drums.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

