Skip to content

Wait for it

November 3, 2011

No news is still no news. It’s taking its toll on me.

The energy work has been helpful in the sense that I am finding my emotions more freely flowing than they were last week. I’m up and down, with the evenly balanced intensity and predictability of a painted pony.

Last night, I hung a picture above the bookcase in my living room. It’s the first up in our new digs. I found an art gallery walk in my new ‘hood this evening. I’ve booked a sitter and will attend on my own. It’s a recurring First Thursday thing.

After three weeks of sabbatical, my house is still not tidy. I am, however, volunteering at a multicultural event at the school tomorrow. This morning, I’ll be making spanakopita for 60. I do not idle well. My eldest has joined a book club, and next week I might be helping at the book fair.

Yesterday I fielded a call from a former employer and former client. Our business relationship spanned a ten year period. Seems they want me back and can entertain my terms. It’s nothing until it’s something, but until then I’ll freely entertain the thought. There’s comfort in it.

I’m finding my fun in the neighbourhood thrift shops, catching up on my mending pile, upcycling, and knitting a shrug. I’ve collected a fine assortment of yarn ends for Christmas slipper projects. I’ve got no suppressed dreams living in my basement. They are co-existing peacefully with me on the ground floor, and it’s near time I finished that quilt top I started ten years ago.

This week some friends turned me on the concept of urban homesteading and radical Home Economics. As unconventional as I like to think I am, I am not yet making my own deodorant.

I understand I’m naturally drawn to both concepts. I like that they have a name.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Thanks for the update. I love what you’re doing/thinking right now.

Leave a Reply

