Skip to content

Circle of mothers

October 28, 2011

My last stop of the day was for energy work. I make an annual visit to the emotional intuitive. She’s trained in Reiki, but to describe her strictly in those terms would be an injustice. She works with Tarot cards, past lives, angels, and animal totems.

What she saw in her work with me today was a very powerful image. She had selected the Goddess deck for me to work with before I had arrived. I pulled the cards of justice, motherhood, and sacred spaces.

She felt my mother stood firmly behind me in my current struggle, and her mother, and mother… and ancient native American mothers, and before we both knew it I was completely circled in mothers.

She called it a circle of hope. In her vision, they opened the circle to let my supportive male friend through to spoonfeed me his home-made soup. The mothers lined up to form concentric circles around me, running hundreds of mothers deep.

I spent my 20s acquiring knowledge, my 30s sharing what I thought I knew, and now my 40s seem to be all about observation. I’m so much more interested in the people who surround me, how they think, and what they know. I’ve started questioning the value of everything I think I know and hold to be true.

For me this afternoon’s experience was much more powerful than the hour I invested in the morning’s psychological counselling appointment, or the 15 minutes I spent with the divorce lawyer.

Somewhere in the midst of it, I remembered my favourite childhood story. It was Golden book, and my father would read it to me as often as I asked: The Bunny Book by Richard Scarry.

I sometimes forget who I am and why I am here.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Goosebumps.

    I love that your father ‘fed you soup’ as a child.

Leave a Reply

